Home/School Management Software/PowerSchool
Updated on: August 23, 2019

PowerSchool Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.2
Based on 426 Rating(s)
Rating Distribution
  • 324
  • 78
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE Write a Review
Sort By
Filter by Source
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 01 August 2019)
"Grading Angel"

What do you like best?

This product provides an easy way to track student progress and communicate with parents.

What do you dislike?

I have no immediate dislikes for this software.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Parents receive information in real time regarding student achievement.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 04 June 2019)
"Great for State Reporting and general use"

What do you like best?

PS has great support for how-tos with so many users and community opportunities. My training has been amazing and it is easy to import/export as well as do all our state reporting as a state adoption

What do you dislike?

Cannot import to/export from student email field easily, still having to use custom field on another page.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

All coding for state accountability, increases every year. We did our CRDC through PS this year for the first time, amazing!

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 02 June 2019)
"PowerSchool is great to fitting our needs"

What do you like best?

The customization ability has been great! The support team has always been attentive to issues. All around the core SIS product has been invaluable to our district with how powerful it is. They also listen to feedback. New enhancements and features are released wit hall major updates. Many of these come from what customers have said.

What do you dislike?

The initial learning curve for admin users can be high. The system is very extensive on what it can do. Learning all parts of what is capable of can take time.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

This system is great if you want to integrate with other software. Very flexible on customizing pages in the system. Community support is also very extensive and useful.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We can tailor PowerSchool pages to our needs. This creates a better workflow for our staff to enter data.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 30 May 2019)
"Database Manager review of PowerSchool SIS"

What do you like best?

The ability to customize PowerSchool SIS to enhance data collection and tailor the product to our district's needs.

What do you dislike?

I don't understand why PowerTeacher doesn't display parent/student email addresses.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The ability to export student data for state reporting is super helpful. It has saved hundreds of hours of manual data entry.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 29 May 2019)
"Complex but useful"

What do you like best?

We've found Powerschool as a strong and useful platform for database management. It is very functional, and contains a diversity of tools in order to work with, organize, and analyze data.

What do you dislike?

It is way too complex, so the learning curve takes time. When synced to Unified Classroom it turns way harder to use.

It is hard to contact support, we've had cases wher it takes them longer to solve the issue, and we decide to re do the whole thing.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

Implementation and learning curve takes time and patience. It is complex when associated with Unified Classroom.

It is a good idea to involve the most personnel during implementation; more hands and minds help more.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Organization and unification, we used to have different platforms, and now everything is found in one single place.

Besides, Powerschool provides a self place to store information. It is trustworthy.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 29 May 2019)
"Worked with PowerSchool for over 15 years."

What do you like best?

I am able to customize PowerSchool to fit our schools needs. Their support services are easy to use and the staff knowledgeable. Love the Help tab in the SIS for state reporting help.

What do you dislike?

When I go to a previous year, I'd like to see the students grade level at what it was in that year. Right now when I go to a previous year, the grade level at the top of the screen shows the current year grade level.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

Attend PowerSchool University your first couple of years. They offer excellent courses that will help you be a successful user and administrator of PowerSchool.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Scheduling next years students for our middle school using PowerScheduler. This will save the middle school secretary hours of manual scheduling.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 29 May 2019)
"Great SIS"

What do you like best?

I like that pretty much everything is in one place - attendance, transcripts, programs, state reporting, etc. They also have an abundance of plugins that can enhance the SIS. It is a really straightforward system that is easy to use and easy to train people on. There are so many available modifications that you can make to use the system exactly as you need it.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes getting help from tech support is difficult because of the language barrier and their lack of patience to really go through an issue to replicate it. Usually when they roll out a new update, I have a lot of problems with getting HTTP error messages that it will usually take a few days to fix. Also, the CRDC report doesn't seem to match the logic that the CRDC report requests, but that's only reported once every two years.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

Definitely combine the PowerSchool SIS with PS Registration to get the most out of the program. I would also attend PowerSchool University to really get into how you can maximize PS utilization.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

One benefit that we have is that we use PS Registration and it delivers the student registration data directly to PS - minimizing the use of paper forms, and almost eliminating a lot of errors due to poor handwriting.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 29 May 2019)
"PowerSchool allows us track student data like no other SIS out there!"

What do you like best?

The PowerSchool state reporting feature saves me countless hours of combing through spreadsheets to verify data. I love the ability to export almost anything from PowerSchool. PowerSchool tech support is the best in the business. The staff is very knowledgable and is always able to solve my requests.

What do you dislike?

I am new to the world of SIS management. There is so much to learn in PowerSchool. I look forward to a long PS SIS relationship going forward and hope to become a PS SIS Master!

Recommendations to others considering the product:

You should strongly consider PowerSchool SIS. Their vision and products are revolutionary!

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Student schedules, enrollment, and reporting. Page and Data Management features have saved my life!

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 29 May 2019)
"PowerSchool a huge success!"

What do you like best?

The ease of manipulation of data and ease of explanation to new users on how to navigate the screens.

What do you dislike?

That some screens with the same data do not 'speak' to each other. Some data has to be double entered.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The level of giving permissions to a variety of people lets us divide up the administrative tasks nicely.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 28 May 2019)
"A fine product"

What do you like best?

It allows us to easily track truancies.

What do you dislike?

I would like better student and classroom tracking. like an integrated LMS module to elemanate the need for both and advoid redundant data input.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

This is better than Skyward

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

In my department we use it for both account creation on devices and to make sure the students are holding up to our AUP standards.

...more