Home/Payroll Software/Gusto/Reviews
Updated on: December 16, 2019

Gusto Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3
Based on 166 Rating(s)
Rating Distribution
  • 143
  • 2
  • 1
  • 5
  • 15
SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE Write a Review
Sort By
Filter by Source
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 30 July 2019)
"Support are too slow to reply to mission-critical payroll bugs (multiple occasions)"

What do you like best?

UI is nice and intuitive. Most forms are automatically taken care of.

What do you dislike?

Support response times. Support are too slow to reply to mission-critical payroll bugs (multiple occasions)

Recommendations to others considering the product:

Consider alternatives with better customer support

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Payroll, benefits

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 26 July 2019)
"Makes paperwork easy"

What do you like best?

Simple interface, makes tax/payroll forms easy

What do you dislike?

Have to sign in again every time on all devices

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Clock in and out

Fill out tax, payroll forms

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 25 July 2019)
"Great for small businesses"

What do you like best?

Great tool for small businesses that need an all in one software for payroll and benefits. As a user, everything is straightforward and easy to find. Things like downloading statements to checking how much PTO you have is as easy as a few clicks.

What do you dislike?

The only drawback that I have seen so far is that I can not use my PTO straight from the app. It tells you how much you have accrued, but there's no easy way to use it.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Compared to other programs that I have used, this is the most straight forward. It's incredible what a good UI can do for something as poring as Payroll.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 19 July 2019)
"Gusto has been essential to our small, fully-remote, software development services business"

What do you like best?

Gusto's support has helped us navigate several tricky payroll issues over the years. We have employees in several states, which can be complicated to deal with. Gusto helps us handle this complexity efficiently.

The application's user interface is easy to understand, but has all of the features we as a small business needs, including custom vacation plans, job offers, recurring reimbursements, and many more small items.

None of our eight of our employees have ever complained about Gusto's UI, and they only very rarely (e.g., once a year) have questions about it.

What do you dislike?

Really, the site works great. The only things I dislike are very small:

- There is no warning that, when you add a new company location, you may irreversibly create complicated tax issues

- I think that users can not edit vacation time requests, but must cancel them and add them back

- Sometimes notifications in the admin interface keep coming back, even when it seems like they shouldn't

Recommendations to others considering the product:

Be careful that you have all of your tax information in place before adding new company locations in other states.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Without Gusto, I suspect we would need to hire an admin assistant or part-time HR consultant.

It handles our vacation, payroll, hiring, and 401(k) seamlessly.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 16 July 2019)
"Easy and efficient for small businesses!"

What do you like best?

Gusto is easy to set-up, and offers a friendly user interface that anyone can use. Reminders are very efficient to avoid you missing any important date. Reports are great. Pricing is fair. Support team is also responsive.

What do you dislike?

I don't actually see any downside, it's a very good fit for a small business like ours.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Gusto Payroll allows us to save time with administrative tasks and focus on our business.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 16 July 2019)
"Love Gusto"

What do you like best?

It's extremely easy to use, payroll is done in less than 5 minutes, all the required forms are taken care of on a monthly or quarterly basis and best of all, it's not only easy, it's affordable!

What do you dislike?

I dislike when companies push their political agendas on social media!

It's best to remain neutral!

I don't discuss politics or religion with my clients... it's better that way!

Recommendations to others considering the product:

It's well worth it, you won't be disappointed

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I was using quick books payroll and it was costing $50 a month and I was filling and filing all the forms required for state, local and federal!

It was time consuming!

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 14 July 2019)
"Unethical business with unresponsive support"

What do you like best?

They used to be a good company the first year we were with them, way back when they were called Zenpayroll.

What do you dislike?

Gusto has tripled our price with zero new features. When I emailed support, they ignored my email even though we have been a paying customer for years. The same features that I was paying $4/mo/person for is now $12/mo/person.

Since all employee data is tied into this system, it is a nightmare to switch, and they know it which is why they don't grandfather you in like most ethical companies do.

Recently they failed to pay unemployment taxes in Texas on time leading to penalties for all of their Texas based businesses.

Support can take days to respond if they respond at all.

They are not an ethical business to work with and I look forward to the day we can shed them and go with a company that doesn't bait and switch you on pricing and has support that actually is friendly, helpful, and responsive.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Payroll.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 12 July 2019)
"So glad I switched from ADP to Gusto!!"

What do you like best?

Gusto has exceptional customer service. I was identified using a client code with ADP and used to get passed around between departments for an hour before getting an answer. Now with Gusto, I call their dedicated service professionals and they know me by name. They have really short wait times (if any) and always respond to emails in a timely manner, including follow up.

What do you dislike?

Only issue I have is that it doesn't work well with Safari browser. I have had some payroll errors due to not using Chrome.

Recommendations to others considering the product:

If you run a small business, Gusto is hands down the best option. It's almost like we hired a whole HR department when we signed on with Gusto, without having to take on the additional cost. I would highly recommend!!

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our new employee on boarding process has been streamlined. I just enter some basic information in their profile and then Gusto does the rest to collect information from the employee. It's an easy to use platform that stores all of the information I need about my employees.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 10 July 2019)
"Awesome Service, Well Designed"

What do you like best?

Gusto handles many tasks and needs of our company. Not only payroll, but we also run time off through Gusto. We love its ease of use, design, usability, and support. What I like best is probably the way they send my W2 straight to my inbox.

What do you dislike?

I don't have many dislikes. It gets the job done across the board.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Payroll, HR, benefits, and time off all being in the same place is huge for us. So easy.

...more
Source : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 08 July 2019)
"The very definition of peace of mind"

What do you like best?

Gusto's customer support is, by far, the best of any of the software/service providers our company uses. They are responsive, attentive, and caring. Payroll and taxes are a big source of stress for us (being a company with only two employees and many, many contractors) because we're not accountants or tax professionals. Knowing that Gusto has our back, keeping the i's dotted and the t's crossed while also being infinitely patient with our questions and concerns, literally helps us both sleep better at night.

What do you dislike?

Overall, their online interface does everything that we need. I could get really nitpicky about a couple UX issues if pressed (having to click more times than I'd prefer in terms of bulk editing/info review), but the overall user experience is intuitive, logical, and helpful.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are NOT accountants or tax professionals, so Gusto allows us to actually run payroll and manage a stable of contractors with zero stress. The self-onboarding feature is key for us, because that way we don't have to keep sensitive information stored on our company computers, and our contractors can access their information directly. Previously, we used our accountant to issue 1099s, costing us about $50/contractor/year; with Gusto, we pay on a monthly basis only for the contractors that we paid *in that month* but still get the infrastructure for contractor-self-management and issuing 1099s; not only does it save us money, it saves us administrative time.

Additionally, for our two employees, we didn't have to navigate the complex world of state and federal tax reporting/FICA payments, and when there's an issue that does need our attention, the Gusto support team invariably steps in to help us understand how to proceed.

...more