Home/Payroll Software/Gusto/Reviews
Updated on: July 9, 2020

Gusto Reviews

OVERALL RATING
4.3
Based on 251 Rating(s)
Rating Distribution
  • 220
  • 7
  • 1
  • 5
  • 18
SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE Write a Review
Sort By
Filter by Source
Dustin McBrideSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 22 April 2020)
Gusto leaves competitors in the dust...o

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Gusto to manage payroll for all of our employees. It gives users a single place to see their paystubs, and manage documents like direct deposit authorizations, W-2, and W-4. We needed something that was easy to administer since we do not have anyone who is dedicated to HR tasks full-time. It also needed to be easy to use for the employees so that the company did not get a high number inquiries on payroll-related questions or concerns.

Pros and Cons

  • Gets employees their paychecks
  • View benefits
  • Manage documents
Edit
  • I don't like the fun facts; it feels intrusive.

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto was a solid solution for my previous company that had about 100 employees. We really like gusto at the company I am with now that has about 20 employees. I'm not sure how it does for larger companies so you'll want to do your research there. We like it because it is really easy to set up and does not require a lot of man-hours for ongoing administration.
Read Dustin McBride's full review

...more
Verified UserSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 27 March 2020)
Payroll made easy!

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Gusto for all of our payroll and related filings. We originally used Xero (our accounting software) for our payroll, but Xero decided to no longer provide payroll services and encourage users to switch to Gusto. At first I was disappointed that I would have to switch our service, but the transition was very easy and seamless and now I couldn't be happier. Gusto takes the pain, mystery, and confusion out of payroll, saves the organization considerable time (our most valuable resource), and it communicates beautifully with Xero.

Pros and Cons

  • The user interface is intuitive and attractive.
  • The set up process is painless and easy.
  • It sends payroll and filing reminders to my inbox.
  • It integrates well with Xero accounting software.
  • It creates beautiful payroll reports quickly.
Edit
  • The employee time tracking service should not be an "add on," it should be included.

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto truly makes setting up and running payroll extremely easy and, dare I say, enjoyable? At first I grumbled about the cost, but it is well worth it.

The support provided to make sure the organization stays compliant with state and federal laws is invaluable, as was the support setting up time off, sick, and pto policies.
Read this authenticated review

...more
Verified UserSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 13 March 2020)
Gusto - HR made simple!

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Gusto is primarily used by our Human Resources department. Other members of the organization use it to check their benefits, paid time off, sick days and keep their personal information up to date for the Human Resources department. Gusto saves the business problem of needing and having a human resources portal.

Pros and Cons

  • Manages employee personal info.
  • Software for the Human Resources department.
  • Nice User Interface
Edit
  • Allows communications with human resources.
  • Creates an easy way to update employee tax-related info.
  • Good integration for QuickBooks or other accounting software.

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto is very well suited for any organization needing a human resources portal. I would say if you have 10 or more employees or are growing to the capacity of more employees its good suite and cost-effective to support a large scale business of 50 or more employees that needs to reduce administrative functions of a Human Resources department.
Read this authenticated review

...more
Verified UserSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 25 February 2020)
Gusto: Small and simple but still mighty

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Gusto is our payroll services provider, used by the entire organization to process payroll, file employment taxes and track PTO utilization.

Pros and Cons

  • Customer service.
  • Affordable service option.
Edit
  • Hours of operation... it is a company based on the West Coast so EST hours of operation are not always aligned.
  • Would love to see their platform expanded.

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto is an excellent choice for payroll processing for a rather small, uncomplicated (perhaps even single-state) payroll company. If you are searching for a robust HRIS system, this is not it. If you are looking to be able to run customized payroll related reports, this is also not the system but if you are searching for an excellent payroll processor with great customer service... this is a great choice.
Read this authenticated review

...more
Verified UserSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 15 February 2020)
Me gusto the Gusto. Payroll is finally easy!!!

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • We mostly use Gusto for payroll purposes. I appreciate the fact that it is simple and that it has multiple means of seeing all of your payroll data in one spot.
  • The privacy settings and email alerts are also helpful. It is the best payroll solution we have used. I would recommend it to other organizations that need a simple yet robust payroll management solution.

Pros and Cons

  • Pay alerts via multiple means
  • Simplicity of backend controls and privacy settings
Edit
  • Needs to release an app
  • Pay info should be hidden as on email alerts as standard so that people in your office don’t accidentally see your payment.

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Gusto is a reliable tool all around. I recommend it for companies under 200 employees as a payroll management solution. With larger organizations more sophisticated reporting and integrations may be needed.
  • A mobile application would be preferable to the web, the only view. The standard default of showing the dollar amount in email alerts is not a good idea. They should change this.
Read this authenticated review

...more
Jonathan YarborSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 23 January 2020)
Gusto saves the day for Payroll

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Gusto to make sure employees get paid on time, have access to benefits, and the company is tax compliant. Their all-in-one solution makes it super simple to stay compliant with multiple states and the changing tax requirements. We simply can focus on supporting the wonderful people that work at Nodecraft instead of worrying about compliance. They also provide a ton of extra services to make sure our employees are happy, on-boarded correctly, and have access to a suite of financial tools to help them.

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll
  • Benefits Management
Edit
  • Automated Monthly Reimbursement
  • External Benefits

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto is well suited for any startup or small business that lacks a full time HR position in the company. The fact that they are available for a phone call or chat at any time means that you feel like you've got the paperwork side of HR taken care of, so you can just focus on the business and the people working for you.

In places I wouldn't see this useful is much larger organizations, but I could be wrong from a distinct lack of experience.
Read Jonathan Yarbor's full review

...more
Jonathan YarborSource : trustradius.com
(Reviewed on 23 January 2020)
Gusto saves the day for Payroll

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Gusto to make sure employees get paid on time, have access to benefits, and the company is tax compliant. Their all-in-one solution makes it super simple to stay compliant with multiple states and the changing tax requirements. We simply can focus on supporting the wonderful people that work at Nodecraft instead of worrying about compliance. They also provide a ton of extra services to make sure our employees are happy, on-boarded correctly, and have access to a suite of financial tools to help them.

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll
  • Benefits Management
Edit
  • Automated Monthly Reimbursement
  • External Benefits

Likelihood to Recommend

Gusto is well suited for any startup or small business that lacks a full time HR position in the company. The fact that they are available for a phone call or chat at any time means that you feel like you've got the paperwork side of HR taken care of, so you can just focus on the business and the people working for you.

In places I wouldn't see this useful is much larger organizations, but I could be wrong from a distinct lack of experience.
Read Jonathan Yarbor's full review

...more
Amara TSource : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 12 January 2020)
"Review Gusto"

What do you like best?

Easy to see the paycheck stubs, get tax documents and integration is easy with accounting software and its quite simple to use as well and resolves most of the payroll-related issues

What do you dislike?

It's a bit pricey, sometimes it takes a long wait with final payslip generation and fetching the information from the software otherwise all good.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

overall payroll management and getting tax documents.

...more
User in Computer SoftwareSource : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 07 January 2020)
"Easy to use and track"

What do you like best?

I loved how easy it was to see and access all my payroll, 401K etc info.

What do you dislike?

Having used a lot of antiquated HR tools in my previous companies I had nothing but a positive experience using Gusto.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Gusto mainly made it super simple to access, see and track all things HR as it related to me as an employee .

Response from Andrea Garcia-Vargas of Gusto Payroll
edit

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad to hear that you're having a positive experience with Gusto so far. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our customer support team if you have any questions or feedback on how we can make your experience even better!

...more
Clare MSource : g2crowd.com
(Reviewed on 20 December 2019)
"So far so good! Easy solution for small businesses."

What do you like best?

We are a two-employee company. Given that we have no HR department or payroll specialists, we needed something that was very much self-serve. So far Gusto has been an excellent solution. They do a very good job guiding you through the process, ensuring you have filed all the right documentation with feds and with each state in which you are paying payroll. We just completed our first payroll. We had a little hiccup with how the system was integrating with Guideline (our 401k). It was actually an issue on the Guideline side, but before we figured that out, the people at Gusto were super hands-on with me, trying to figure out the problem.

What do you dislike?

I can't say I have any dislikes so far. The wait time to get a live person on the phone can take a bit (so far up to 5 min), but honestly, that's not really a game changer. When I have gotten people on the phone, they've been knowledgeable and helpful.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Getting a first-ever payroll out the door! Lots of support for what is a low-cost solution.

...more